News | Hunting Art Prize


HOUSTON - Hunting PLC announced today that 137 Texas artists have been selected to move on to the final round of judging in the 2010 Hunting Art Prize, which is celebrating its 30th anniversary this year.

These artists now enter the second phase of the two-tiered jury process for the prize. The panel of jurors that narrowed the 1,400 submissions to the final 137 will reconvene in April to determine the winner.

The $50,000 Hunting Art Prize is among the largest annual art awards in the country, and is the largest in North America for painting and drawing. The recipient will be announced at a May 1 gala at the Friedkin Corporate Campus, Gulf States Toyota, 1375 Enclave Parkway in Houston.

Hunting moved the prize to Houston in 2006 after a quarter century in the United Kingdom, where it emerged as one of Great Britain’s top art awards. It is open to any Texas-based artist who is 18 years or older.

The artists are:

Valerie Gillespie, Addison   Elizabeth Flores, Houston
Andrew Scott DeJesese, Amarillo   Carla Gauthier, Houston
Tommy Fitzpatrick, Arlington   Ryan Geiger, Houston
Lindsay Barras, Austin   Carol Gerhardt, Houston
Marc Burckhardt, Austin   Lane Hagood, Houston
Shawn Camp, Austin   Trenton Doyle Hancock, Houston
K.C. Collins, Austin   Daniel Heimbinder, Houston
Jerry Defrese, Austin   Will Henry, Houston
Anne K. Ducote, Austin   Jimmy Houston, Houston
Robert Jackson Harrington, Austin   Hedwige Jacobs, Houston
Gabel Karsten, Austin   John Jenkins, Houston
Susan Kemner Reed, Austin   Jason Kishell, Houston
Jan Knox, Austin   Marcelyn McNeil, Houston
Suzanne Lewis, Austin   Matt Messinger, Houston
Andrew Long, Austin   Garrett Middaugh, Houston
Sandy Lowder, Austin   Veronique Molinier, Houston
Katie Maratta, Austin   Kia Neill, Houston
Alejandro Sanchez, Austin   John Palmer, Houston
Krutie Thakkar, Austin   Elizabeth Passela, Houston
Sydney Yeager, Austin   Olga Porter, Houston
Emilie Duval, Beaumont   Lisa Qualls, Houston
Amy Prasad, Bellaire   Beth Secor, Houston
Leighann Foster, Boerne   Sandi Seltzer Bryant, Houston
Daniel Hays, Chandler   Susan Spjut, Houston
Michael Miller, Commerce   Wendy Wight, Houston
Jennifer Culberson, Dallas   Diane Wilkinson, Houston
Isabelle du Toit, Dallas   Jennifer Beaudoing, Hurst
Barnaby Fitzgerald, Dallas   Amy Newland, La Grange
Brian Gibb, Dallas   Robert Bear, Lampasas
Christopher Gleeson, Dallas   Devon Grey, Leander
Pamela Nelson, Dallas   Javier Lopez, Levelland
Kim Owens, Dallas   Shannon Cannings, Lubbock
Tung Sheng-Ho, Dallas   Erika Johnson, Lubbock
Kendall Stallings, Dallas   David Lindsay, Lubbock
Andrew Underwood, Dallas   Clint Stone, Lubbock
Michael Bales, Denton   Miguel Avila, Missouri City
Matthew Bourbon, Denton   Lester Butler, Nacogdoches
John Calabrese, Denton   Allison Hammond, New Braunfels
Bethany Gouldin, Denton   William Young, Palestine
Anna Tovar, Denton   Marlene Llanes, Pasadena
Sarah Williams, Denton   Daniel Longtin, Pasadena
Stephen Daly, Dripping Springs   Veronica Jaeger, Pharr
Cesar Ivan, El Paso   Yvette Shadrock, Pipe Creek
Albert Wong, El Paso   Elizabeth McDonald, Plano
Alice Bateman, Fort Worth   Kelly Yarbrough, Plano
Carol Benson, Fort Worth   Shawn Saumell, Providence Village
Rosalyn Bodycomb, Fort Worth   Kim Alexander, Richardson
Ron A. Cheek, Fort Worth   Randolph Nesbitt, Round Rock
Tom Delaney, Fort Worth   Rene Alvarado, San Angelo
Pat Gabriel, Fort Worth   Ric Dentinger, San Antonio
John Hartley, Fort Worth   Joey Fauerso, San Antonio
James Malone, Fort Worth   Alex Garcia, San Antonio
Frank McCulley, Fort Worth   Kimberly Jones, San Antonio
Debora Young, Fort Worth   Leigh Anne Lester, San Antonio
Pat Chaney, Graham   Kari Roberts-Sackmann, San Antonio
John Dietz, Hawkins   Regis Shephard, San Antonio
Lori Giesler, Highland Village   Virginia Spencer, San Antonio
Michael Arcieri, Houston   Sandra Whitby, San Antonio
David Aylsworth, Houston   Annie Simpson, San Marcos
William Betts, Houston   Gay Paratore, Santa Fe
Michael Bise, Houston   George Fischer, Spicewood
Natasha Bowdoin, Houston   Trudy Askew, Sugar Land
Jeffrey Brailas, Houston   Andrea Chung, Sugar Land
David Cobb, Houston   Lorena Morales, Sugar Land
Catherine Colangelo, Houston   Sylvia Trybek, Sugar Land
Melanie Crader, Houston   Gaylon Dingler, Tyler
Julio Crews, Houston   Clara Dutton, Waco
Garland Fielder, Houston   Bill Franklin, Waco
    Nancy Lamb, Westworth Village

About Hunting PLC

Hunting PLC is an international oil services company providing support solutions to the world’s largest oil and gas concerns. Established in 1874, it is a fully listed public company, traded on the London Stock Exchange. For further information, visit